How to: Recover Files After Hard Disk Boot Failure

recovery2

I have been meaning to post this for a while.

Above is a screenshot of how I used Ubuntu to recover files from my dead laptop PC. A few months ago, I tried to start my computer and I got the infamous black screen of death; the error message saying something along the lines of “booting error, system disk failure.”

There is a pretty good chance your system files got corrupted, possibly by a virus, and you might possibly lose all the files on your hard disk drive — on your pretty much dead computer.

FEAR NOT, and do not waste your money doing a file recovery.

Get a working computer,  then download and burn a UBUNTU LIVE cd with a program like this. Then follow a series of instructions here. Cool, huh? Let me know if it works for you too. Please spread the love.

Leave a Reply

